

Sept/Oct 2024 issue



About

The Anthony N Sabga Awards were established in 2005, to recognise and support excellence in human endeavour that uplifts the region.

Since then, we've awarded 62 laureates, presenting them with over TT\$30 million to further their careers.

The Awards' E-News is a bi-monthly publication – all about our laureates and the infrastructure that selects and supports them.

Learn More

Contents

I

Sculptor in the Sun

2

Kerryann takes flight

3

Dr Persaud adds variety

4

National award for Prof Hosein

5

The inspirational Dr Rhonda Maingot 6

Dr Walcott's Brazilian connection

7

New to the EPP





Sculptor in the Sun

2020 Arts & Letters Laureate, sculptor Jallim Eudovic, received a SUNSHINE Award in October for his significant contribution to visual arts.

Known for his wood, bronze and marble sculptures inspired by St Lucian and Caribbean culture, Eudovic completed a government-commissioned sculpture commemorating St Lucia's independence at the Castries waterfront in 2019. His Sunshine was presented at a ceremony in Newark, New Jersey. Also receiving a SUNSHINE was our 2013 Public & Civic Contributions Laureate Dr Rhonda Maingot of the Living Water Community in Trinidad.

Dr Maingot founded the charitable Catholic community that caters to the poor and socially vulnerable in 1975. She was awarded the SUNSHINE with Living Water co-founder, Rose Jackman.



Volume 19/Issue 3 September/October 2024 Laureate News







Kerryann takes flight

Our 2024 Public & Civic Contributions Laureate, Kerryann Ifill, took flight recently with a four-page spread in the September/ October issue of Caribbean Airlines' in-flight magazine, Caribbean Beat.

Kerryann related some of the barriers people with disabilities in the Caribbean encounter, and recounted some of her "tiring and tireless" advocacy for the disabled community. While noting progress on inclusivity, Kerryann also lamented "way too many instances where persons with disabilities have to beg for equal treatment."

"To be recognised by the prestigious Anthony N Sabga Awards for Excellence this year and receiving the Order of Freedom of Barbados last year means that somebody else took time to pay attention to the things that I do, and it gives me the opportunity to reflect on what my life has done."

Kerryann Ifill – 2024 Laureate – in the September/October issue of Caribbean Beat magazine



Dr Mahendra Persaud (left) with Guyana's Agriculture Minister Zulfikar Mustapha, at the launch of GRDB 18 in October. Courtesy, Ministry of Agriculture Facebook page

Dr. Persaud adds variety

Chief Scientist at the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB), 2023 Science & Technology Laureate Dr Mahendra Persaud, has produced yet another variety of rice for Guyana's farmers.

Dr Persaud and his team launched GRDB 18 in October. It's a variety that has the ability to withstand delayed harvesting and is resistant to the blast pathogen.

New rice varieties produced by breeders at the GRDB are credited with increasing farmers' yields by 40-50%. "We have tried to mix different genetic backgrounds, local and foreign," noted Dr Persaud at the launch, "to come up with something that will be useful to our farmers."

Volume 19/Issue 3 Laureate News September/October 2024





Professor Patrick Hosein with his wife Deborah Hosein and mother, Merle.

National award for Prof Hosein

Patrick Hosein – Professor of Computer Science at UWI St Augustine – received Trinidad and Tobago's highest award, the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (ORTT) on Republic Day in August.

Our Joint Science & Technology Laureate for 2015 was cited by the national awards committee for an his "unwavering commitment to leveraging technology in underserved communities."

Prof Hosein has also been credited with redesigning UWI's MSc in Computer Science, by replacing dated courses with new ones that better reflect the country's needs.



Living Water Community's Dr Rhonda Maingot (fourth from left) at the Inspirational Women's Forum Awards in September. Courtesy IWFTT.

The inspirational Dr Rhonda Maingot

For 50 years of service to the needy in T&T, 2015 Laureate Dr Rhonda Maingot was awarded the inaugural Inspirational Legacy Award by the Inspirational Women's Forum of Trinidad and Tobago (IWFTT) in September.

The Living Water Community that Dr Maingot co-founded in 1975 has expanded its outreach to include shelters, rehabilitation centres, and programmes for migrants, the homeless, and the terminally ill.

Volume 19/Issue 3 Laureate News September/October 2024





Musical creative Dr Stefan Walcott of Barbados with Latin Grammy Award winner, Carlinhos Brown.

Dr Walcott's Brazilian connection

Musician and UWI Cave Hill music educator Dr Stefan Walcott credited the Anthony N Sabga Awards with opening doors when he met with Brazilian musician Carlinhos Brown in August.

In an Instagram post, Walcott expressed his obvious delight at meeting with the two-time Latin Grammy "superstar" - singer of the global hit 'Magalenha' - and being marvellously treated by Brown's mother.

"None of this would have been possible without the award bestowed on me by @anthony_n_sabga_awards," concluded Walcott. "Muito obrigado!!!"

Volume 19/Issue 3 Laureate News September/October 2024



Economist Dr Terrence Farrell – the newest member of the Regional EPP.



Outgoing EPP member, Diana Mahabir-Wyatt, receives a farewell gift from Chairman of the ANSA McAL Foundation Andrew Sabga, as she stepped down as a Foundation Director in July.

New to the EPP

The Regional Eminent Persons Panel (EPP) that selects our laureates annually has welcomed former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago, Dr Terrence Farrell, to the group.

Dr Farrell, an Economist and Fellow of the Institute of Banking and Finance of Trinidad and Tobago, takes up his EPP appointment as the representative of the ANSA McAL Foundation Board.

He replaces Diana Mahabir-Wyatt, who stepped down from the Board and the EPP in July. Heavily involved in civil society organisations devoted to women's and children's rights, Mahabir-Wyatt was praised by fellow directors for a "tremendous legacy of selfless service."