

ANTHONY N. SABGA AVARDS E-NEWS

THE ANTHONY N. SABGA CARIBBEAN AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

Volume 16, Issue 1 January February 2021

Robertson vs the Volcano



The La Soufriere volcano in St Vincent and the Grenadines has recently become active. Laureate Dr Richard Robertson was part of a threeman team sent to the island to collect data on the latest activity. Photo: Dr Adam Stinton.

Dr Richard Robertson, our 2014 Laureate in Science & Technology, and the Caribbean's leading volcanologist, was in his native St Vincent and the Grenadines recently after its volcano, La Soufriere, became active. It began what is known as an "effusive eruption" — as opposed to an explosive eruption — and molten material began seeping to the surface.

A new "dome" of hardened volcanic magma appeared in December, and has continued to grow.

Dr Robertson, who works with the UWI Seismic Research Centre in St Augustine, Trinidad, was part of a team of geologists and volcanologists who proceeded to the island to monitor and collect data from the site. In addition to setting up new monitoring equipment, Dr Robertson also provided educational interventions to Vincentians about the phenomenon. His biographical video can be found in our YouTube channel https://tinyurl.com/16env0qp, and a brief biography can be found on our website in the "Laureates" pulldown menu.



Page



ANTHONY N. SABGA AWARDS E-NEWS

Our 2020 Laureates on Television



Television Schedule Anguilla (KCN Channel 4), 8 pm, February 24, 26, 28

British Virgin Islands (CBN Channel 101) 8 pm, February 24, 26, 28

St Kitts & Nevis (Nevis Television Channel 99) 8 pm, February 24, 26, 28

St Marteen (TV Carib Channel 10) February 24, 26, 28 Barbados (CBC TV8) 8-10 pm February 25 St Lucia (MBC) 8.30 pm February 24

St Lucia (DBS Television) 8 pm February 26

Belize (Channel 5) 9 am February 28

Turks and Caicos (People's TV) 7pm February 2

Turks and Caicos (People's TV) 7pm February 24 Grenada (GBN TV) 8 pm February 26 Antigua and Barbuda (ABS TV) 7.30 pm February 28 Guyana (TVG Channel 288) 8.30pm February 25

St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG TV) 8.30pm February 24

Trinidad & Tobago (CNC3 TV) 7.30 pm February 28

Jamaica, To Be Announced. Please monitor our Facebook page for updates.

2021 Laureates will be announced on March 11. Look us up on Facebook for details.



ANTHONY N. SABGA AWARDS E-NEWS

Recognition for Laureates and Committee Members



Dr Shirin Haque, our 2020 Laureate in Science & Technology, the only working astronomer in the English-speaking Caribbean, was recently asked by the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology of Trinidad and Tobago (NIHERST) to participate in their annual symposium (in February) on women and girls in Science.

Dr Haque was one of seven panellists who made short presentations and took questions in an online forum. The event is a yearly one, organised by UNESCO to promote increased gender equity in participation in science, and to promote science as a realistic career path for women and girls.

This year, the event was held under the patronage of Her Excellency, President Paula Mae Weekes of Trinidad and Tobago.

Major General Joe Singh (Retd) of Guyana, a member of the regional Eminent Persons Panel, has been asked by the new Cabinet of Guyana to be the Chairman of the Board of the National Agriculture Research & Extension Institute, NAREI.

The institute is responsible for research and development of all crops except sugar and rice. Its mandate includes research, development and promotion of value-added products for local, regional and international markets using appropriate technology, low carbon methodologies and efficient use of land and resources. The General had held the position previously until he resigned it, along with all his other government posts in 2017. We at the ANSA Caribbean Awards congratulate him on his new positions.





Mr Tony Gibbs a member of our Barbados Nominating Committee, was awarded the title of Companion of Honour Barbados (CHB) on that island's 54th anniversary of Independence on November 30.

Mr Gibbs is an engineer and was born in Grenada, but is also a citizen of Barbados. The CHB is Barbados's second highest honour.

Mr Gibbs is an engineer (now retired) who has worked throughout the region for the past 35 years and is responsible for hundreds of projects. He is the first Caribbean person to be elected to the British Royal Academy of Engineering, and has held several prestigious positions in his field, including the Past President of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers. He is a fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the UK Royal Society of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, and the Royal Society of Chartered Surveyors.

Programme Director: Mrs Maria Superville-Neilson · email: maria.neilson@ansamcal.com Corporate Communications Manager: Dr Raymond Ramcharitar · email: anscafe@ansamcal.com Programme Office Assistant: Miss Olivia Habib · email: olivia.habib@ansamcal.com