Awards Ceremonies

Awards ceremonies have mostly been held in Trinidad but have also been held in the laureates’ home countries on occasion, especially during the COVID pandemic. For the ceremony, laureates are hosted at a gala event attended by members of the ANSA McAL Foundation, representatives of the Eminent Persons Panel,

the Country Nominating Committees, the Programme Office, and other specially invited guests.

At the ceremony, each laureate offers remarks and receives their cheque, citation, and Anthony N. Sabga Awards’ gold coin.

2023 Awards Ceremony

2022 Ceremonies

Mr Marlon James of Jamaica, our 2022 Laureate in Arts & Letters

Mr Alim Hosein, Mr Shyam Nokta, Ms Anuskha Varsha Sonai and Mr Al Creighton in Guyana, 2022

Prof Christine Carrington (2022 Laureate in Science & Technology)

Dr Kim Jebodhsingh, our 2022 Laureate in Public & Civic Contributions, in Barbados, 2022

HE Dame Sandra Mason and Dr Kim Jebodhsingh in Barbados, 2022

Anuskha Varsha Sonai of SUriname, our 2022 Laureate in Public & Civic Contributions in Guyana, 2022

2021 Ceremony

2021 Ceremony

2020 Ceremony

2020 Ceremony - Minna Israel, Sir Kenneth Hall, Dr Olivene Burke, Mr Christopher Bovell, Mr Morin Seymout

Guyana ceremony 2020 - Ariana Mendes, Marie June Mendes, Andrew Mendes, and Nicola Mendes

Guyana ceremony 2020 - HE President Paula-Mae Weekes and Dr Shirin Haque, 2020 Science and Technology Laureates